I am a lone reed.

Just about everyone has left for the indoor track conference in tennessee. All that is left of us is Kelsie, myself, Kendall, Britt, and Andy. (Kendall and Britt are roommates that are also on the guys team but are injured) Andy is a good friend from high school.

So Kelsie and I decided to rent all the gushy love movies we’ve been wanting to see since it is just us girls here. The rental list went as follows:

The Phantom of the Opera
You’ve got mail (presently filling my tv screne for the second time)
The Princess Bride (my own movie)
Schindler’s List (ok so this isnt exaclt a romance but Kelsie hadn’t seen it and it’s not exactly something you watch with your friends on any saturday night.)

Phantom of the Opera practically ripped our hearts out of our chests. Kelsie cried just about the whole time 🙂 When the movie was through, we began to psychoanalyze characters that did not even exist. “HES A HUMAN BEING TOO! People back then just didn’y understand physical deformities, it’s not his fault, it’s biology!!!!”
We were extremely serious, and extremely entertaining I’m sure.

The Princess Bride we have not watched yet, but we have watched You’ve Got mail and Schindler’s list. Somehow, I have found the messages in these two films, and today’s mass to all tie together. I know that sounds crazy, as most of them seem not to relate at all. BUT.

I’ve been focusing lately on living a more courageous life. The book I’m reading by Donald Miller constantly makes declarations about what it really is to live your life, and that we are scared to point to a certain horizon because after we do that, we have something to fail at. This message has constantly been on my mind. And then we watched You’ve Got Mail, in which a woman who realizes things in life remind her of a book instead of the other way around, decides to change her life. She takes on a true challenge she found hersel much too mild to handle before. Frank, her boyfriend, reassures her with ” YOU, are a long reed.” I love this saying. Then we watched Schindler’s List. I could ramble on forever about all the thoughts I had as I watched that movie for the second time. Mainly, it makes me so grateful to God for being so blessed. He could have so easily placed me back then, belonging to a Jewish family. But my soul is here, and I am blessed daily. Then I went to mass where the priest spoke of Lent as a time of courage and bearing a cross before reaching glory. I have decided to focus more on living for God than myself, more so than I have in a very long time. I’ve pointed to a horizon, and claimed it as mine. I am living a life that I thought I was too mild for, and it is a relief.
Who would have thought three random things would all produce the same message that I have been looking for!

Also, Oschar Schindler is my favorite historical figure, and a hero of mine. I really want to see his grave someday.

One thought on “I am a lone reed.

  1. ::standing ovation::"Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart."!!!!! When that's what we have to follow, HOW CAN WE NOT BE BRAVE???!! WOOOHOOO!!! And it's all for joy, baby. Ohhhyeah.:)

Leave a Reply

