Cinder Blocks and Audrey Hepburn

[Nat King Cole- j’ebose beaucou]
Clouseau: Now, this time *I’m* going to stand on *your* shoulders! 
Cato: What good will that do? 

Clouseau: Because I’m taller than you are, you fool! 

The first day back at school always feels so specific.

The feeling of moving back in, getting the dorm set up, knowing but denying that this is the cleanest it will be all semester. 
I’ve been here less than a day and already the feeling of college life is filling the 10×10 living space. 
~Sitting in the hallway on the phone, in hopes of privacy and reception, receiving very little of either.
~Having nothing to drink, and little to eat. Peanuts, peanut butter and wheat thins… all legit thirst inducers.
~An emergency trip to Walmart for ramen
~My roommate coming in from practice covered literally from head to toe in mud. I thought an African American had wandered mistakenly into my room, no lie. 
~Lukewarm showers (poor rommie 🙂
~Nat King Cole
I keep hearing little “ew!” and “gross!” ‘s from the shower. About a minute ago Jasmine called out in the most pitiful tone, “Collette… can you come wash my back?” 
Now that is true roommate love. But if I ever got into a mud fight with my cross country coach at six in the morning, she would do the same for me 🙂 
And thus begins a semester of uncertainty, independence, hope, lots of joy, and faith. 
Oh, and lots of resolutions. All of them about working out and grades and money conservation.
I need to hire Cato Fong, the Jacques Clouseau’s asian sidekick that is always keeping him on his toes. Then again, there isn’t much space for all that riff raff in my dorm room. I guess I will have to hold myself accountable without the asian assailant. 
And Jasmine emerges from the shower victorious! No longer African American, she is her beautiful Hawaiian self again 🙂 
And so the semester begins. There and Back Again, a student’s tale by Collette Keith.
Leave a Reply

