"I say never be complete"

I don’t even have anything to say, really.

All I know is that I am eating a rice krispy treat, and it makes me happy. And when I get happy, I want to share it with you. Did I mention that I have a white mocha WITH whip cream?? It’s that kind of a day.
I also have a free movie rental in my car. So ha ha.
Notice, by any chance, that I am once again at Starbucks? We have no internet and no cable in the apartment yet, despite our going back and forth with a man named Kermit, nothing’s been installed. Hopefully soon he will install our internet, basic cable, and free, yes FREE landline.
When Kelsea (the awesome new roommie) declined, he responded so”
“Are you not two young girls alone in an apartment complex together?”
And would not it be a bad thing if your call got dropped when calling 911 because a man is in your house?”
See you’d probably have better luck getting a call out from Dante’s seventh circle rather than our apartment building.
Needless to say, we are getting the landline.
When the lady at Starbucks brought me my rice krispy treat, she asked if i’d be needing a fork. I said a “no” that really said “heck no woman, I’m eating this one with my fingers because it’s that kind of a day.” And no, I don’t care that the man across from me is looking at me like I’m five. I feel five. Why should I not be five?!
Yesterday in class my creative writing prof looked at me and boldly asked “Why do you write?”
…why do i write? My brain immediately racked itself with answers typical of a writer.
I don’t write! I attempt and fail and I’ll never write anything with integrity or worth publishing.!! And I’m quitting right now!
Of course I didn’t say any of those things. He cleverly interjected, and told me to write it down somewhere 😉
This is the same man that, earlier in the day when I told him I couldn’t come up with a story idea, looked at me, turned on his heel and walking away said “then have a drink.” and disappeared down the stairs. What a badass.
I want to play the trumpet, but I never want to look like Louis Armstrong. Maybe that’s why there are no great woman trumpet players.
I have a very good friend who made a very hard choice today. I hope she knows I’m proud of her. What courage.
Did you know that in a study done by some big school on criminology, 80% of people confessed to doing a crime they didn’t do when a false witness was involved? And without the witness, and only a false accusation, 25% confessed to something they DIDNT do?
Do you know what I think? We are a society of non-confrontation. We drown our sentences in like and “parenthetical you knows.” Even our facebooks, the greatest social network in the world gives you the options of accepting friend requests by clicking “yes” or “not now.” We can’t even say no in private!
It’s like everybody’s toes are twelve sizes too big and we are trying REALLY really hard not to step on them. Yuck, I am so sick of wishy washy twenty year olds with no passion for anything but themselves.
Heck I think I’d respect an idiot who would argue to death the necessity of lipstick cases to society than a person of average intelligence who just sort of like, stood for, mehhh?
When did we stop caring? When we were handed everything?
Take things away from a man and then he’ll develop an opinion on them.
I see all this potential, and I see squandering. God damn it, an entire generation pumping gas, waiting tables; slaves with white collars. Advertising has us chasing cars and clothes, working jobs we hate so we can buy shit we don’t need. We’re the middle children of history, man. No purpose or place. We have no Great War. No Great Depression. Our Great War’s a spiritual war… our Great Depression is our lives. We’ve all been raised on television to believe that one day we’d all be millionaires, and movie gods, and rock stars. But we won’t. And we’re slowly learning that fact. And we’re very, very pissed off.
But I can’t, I’n not legally allowed to. That’s called stealing. So instead, I’ve got a free movie rental, an empty apartment, and a month to kill.
3 thoughts on “"I say never be complete"

  1. The bit about the trumpet, ha! I chuckled out loud. The last bit, whoa … is that you or a quote from somebody else? Whoa. Don't stop thinking, Collette; you're seeing things that need to be seen.

  2. I laughed out loud about your English professor saying as he went down the stairs, "get a drink," or soemthing like that! Great stuff. I enjoyed all of it.

  3. That is from a movie with Brad Pitt, called Fight Club, sort of about a crazy vigilante. But i LOVE that quote. So glad you are reading, your comments always make me warm 🙂

Leave a Reply

