The Wind that Shakes the Barley

I just watched The Wind that Shakes the Barley.

I don’t even know where to start.
Ireland.
I want to go so, so badly. What an amazing people. I’m fairly certain they are the most incredible country on the planet.
I can’t possibly imagine standing around with ten other people, discussing the ten thousand troops of British soldiers in your country, and deciding to do something about it. It’s hard to picture that kind of bravery at the core of any local man you came across. People then were a completely different breed.
I honestly don’t think most realize the constant struggle Ireland has been in for centuries up until just these past few decades. Always being invaded, never fully conquered.
An entire people being taxed to pay the wages of the soldiers who searched your houses and murdered your people. Neighbors dying with green mouths from eating grass in starvation.
And I want an iphone.
Leave a Reply

