My Turning Page

Fact: Not wanting to write a research paper you desperately need to write is a problem.
Fact: Craving a brown sugar and cinnamon pop-tart at 11 pm is also a problem.
Answer?
Tell yourself that if you work on your paper long enough to process the pop-tart before bed, you can have it.
As I swig my last sip of milk, wipe the crumbs from my lips, I stare at that tiny little sentence…
THE SECOND PAGE! We’ve hit the second page!! Perhaps just barely, perhaps with just a few trailing words on Surrealism in The Trail, but by golly we’ve hit it. It’s always the biggest barrier for me, the transition from the first to the second page. If I can write two pages, I can write a novella.

That is unless it’s on Kafka’s The Trial, which has got to be one of my favorite little novels. Don’t take the term “little novel” as one of endearment. This book is anything but endearing; it just really is a little novel. Regardless, I strongly suggest it to all.

I do NOT, however, suggest writing your research paper on the topic of your Cambridge graduate professor’s dissertation (WHICH is a billion pages long, AND is being published.) She’s already cooked up every topic on this kind of thing, making all I have to offer something lame, like Oatmeal.
But I’m going to hope that she is exceedingly sweet and fair with her grading, and maybe I’ll make it out of her Modern Lit class alive.

Alas, a “how’s work going?” text from Andrew made a slight pang of scholarly guilt strike my conscience, so I guess it’s off to page two and adieu to you.

Listen to this song, but most of all, look up the lyrics. I’ve been listening to it on repeat since Kelsea showed me because it is absolutely beautiful. In fact, I’ll post them for you!

I’ve waited a hundred yearsBut I’d wait a million more for youNothing prepared me for the privilege of being yoursIf I had only felt the warmth within your touchIf I had only seen how you smile when you blushOr how you curl your lip when you concentrate enoughI would have known what I was living forWhat I’ve been living for
Your love is my turning pageOnly the sweetest words remainEvery kiss is a cursive lineEvery touch is a redefining phraseI surrender who I’ve been for who you areNothing makes me stronger than your fragile heartIf I had only felt how it feels to be yoursI would have known what I’ve been living for all alongWhat I’ve been living for
We’re tethered to the story we must tellWhen I saw you well I knew we’d tell it wellWith the whisper we will tame the vicious scenesLike a feather bringing kingdoms to their knees.

4 thoughts on “My Turning Page

  1. I know it 🙂 He was telling us to read it (keeping in mind it's not a true representation of humanity) in PC. and then it was assigned to my class. I was so happy, and plan to discuss it in great length when I see that wonderful man and lady on saturday 🙂

  2. Oh, Collette, I'm so jealous!! Your grandad and I both read The Trial, and love to talk about it–how I would love to be in on this conversation! Not many people have read The Trial, much less want the talk about it. A friend of mine who's an English professor says he's seen different endings depending on the translation you read. Interesting! That book has definitely contributed to my loathing of government bureaucracy!

Leave a Reply

