A sun to rend the dark

Hello blog world. It’s been quite a while hasn’t it. Before I go off on tangents about the break that probably won’t make any sense to you anyways, I want to share some quotes from my favorite book. It’s House of Leaves Lately I keep getting this urge to read it, mixed with thoughts like “You don’t have time to be engaged in a book that requires you to flip it upside down and hold it to mirrors.” Instead, to satisfy the craving, I go through and read my favorite portions, which I’ve highlighted or scribbled a line under. This book almost looks like a sketchpad I’ve marked so much. But, if you’ve ever read it, then you know…how could you not?

My absolute favorite (and probably everyone’s who has ever read it) is on passion.

“Passion has little to do with euphoria and everything to do with patience. It is not about feeling good. It is about endurance. Like patience, passion comes from the same Latin root: pati. It does not mean to flow with exuberance. It means to suffer.”

Mainly, it’s the little things in this book that make it just as beautiful as the great things. And those great things are very, very great.

“Karen refuses the knowledge. A reluctant Eve who prefers tangerines to apples.”

Now, don’t be deceived. This book is as incredibly dark as it is great.

Now for a review of break.
Had Christmas with the family which is always the best. I would call it my favorite part of the year if only the Pensacola trip with all of them didn’t likewise push for the place that would take the cake.
Got an IPHONE! Bless you, brown headed, strangely mom-like santa.
Picked Andrew up from the airport.
Smiled incessantly for about a month.
Road tripped it to Houston to see Mrs. Joan and Mr. Paul.
Snuck in a men’s bathroom to tinkle after the women’s was out of order. Proceeded to hide in the stall as my lookout dropped the ball and four nasty male specimen came in to *do business.*
Got to see the Houston symphony and one of the greatest living pianists.
Got to see the King Tut exhibit
Got to spend break with one of the most wonderful families I know.
Went to New Orleans with Andrew’s family and best friend from Maryland
SAW STYX!!!!!!!!! Greatest present ever
Showed the yank what Louisiana living is like.
Grew and gained a new closeness with danger.
Found out I’m a whopping 5’6 instead of 5’5.
Had a freak out when I realized it’s my last semester
Said goodbye so many people that I already miss.

And now here I am, cradled in a rose colored lazy-boy from Kelsea’s dad’s bachelor days. Looking out at a hodgepodge of furniture and carpet that smells lightly of the previous tenant’s Great Dane, I miss Baton Rouge.

3 thoughts on “A sun to rend the dark

  1. Gosh, House of Leaves is beautiful and why haven't I ever read it?Gosh, you are a beautiful writer.Gosh, what a magical Christmas break! and what scope! a symphony and Styx all in one break!Gosh, I love you, you 5'6" *almost* college graduate.

  2. Collette, your review of break reads like those bits in Marley & Me, remember when he says one after another everything he did that week, or something? I love it! It also thrills me that your favorite times of the year are our family outings, yes! Are we allowed to be so happy with each other???? God is good.

  3. I'm so happy to hear that it reads in that way!!!! Hah you always wonder if people are reading in the voice you write in. And of course thats my favorite time of year!!!! As soon as we drive away from Santa Rosa I'm counting the days till Christmas!!!!

Leave a Reply

