A Million Miles in a Thousand Years, indeed.

It has been such a great day already. I got out of class at 10 am and was done with school for the day, so I trucked William Shatner down to Antique Alley to do some rummaging. After two hours of walking across creaky old floors and smelling of dead people’s stuff, I found it. Seeing as this mystery object is surprise for a reader, it won’t be revealed 🙂
Next on the list was mom’s birthday present. “You know anything you buy she’ll tell you is too expensive, right?” said the tiny old man from behind both counter and spectacles.
“Probably, but she’s out of town,” I said. He took the last bite of his kidney pie, “well then let’s find you something,” he said, thrusting himself off his chair with that slow momentum only old people are capable of. Ten minutes later he was checking me out, scanning a middle finger with a missing tip over his books.
“Twenty even,” he said. A steal.

Below is a picture I found in an old box full of black and white smiling faces, little babies hanging onto the corners of rocking chairs, and war heroes. For some reason I found it incredible and couldn’t leave it behind, plus it was ten cents.

It reminded about “A Million Miles in a Thousand Years,” which in all honesty, I should credit as one of my favorite books more often. One of my favorite chapters out of the book is when the author, Donald Miller, attends his middle aged uncle’s funeral. He explains that when people say someone died too young, it means you were doing great things with your life. He then says:

“What I love about the true gospel of Jesus, though, is that it offers hope. Paul has hope our souls will be made complete. It will happen in heaven, where there will be a wedding and a feast. I wonder if that’s why so many happy stories end in weddings and feasts. Paul says Jesus is the hope that will not disappoint. I find that comforting. That helps me get through the day, to be honest. It even makes me content somehow. Maybe that’s what Paul meant when he said he’d learned the secret of contentment.”

Reflecting on his uncle, he sees him, “sitting at a table and there was a celebration. There was dancing and bottles of wine, and there was music. I could see him at a wedding, and I realized that’s what I should have told Carol, that her dad was at a wedding”

I think that’s why I like this picture so much. When you look past marble and inscription, something about it is a celebration.

2 thoughts on “A Million Miles in a Thousand Years, indeed.

Leave a Reply

