9/11

I completely forgot what today was when I woke up this morning. I stumbled into the main office to get on the computer and there was president Obama, a sea of red white and blue behind him, speaking on tragedy. A comment about living room heroes levelled me; I set my coffee down and took a seat in front of the TV.
It’s hard to know how to react to today. There is such deep sadness combined with such deep pride, and before 9/11, my generation never really knew what that felt like.
“But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us. We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed.”

To end on a lighter note for you today, I had my first college dream, post college. I dreamed that Dr. Giles, (the most brilliant, challenging professor I ever had) was teaching a history class instead of English. When we all got our first tests back, everyone had an A, but I had an F-! On the back was “TRY HARDER” in big red letters. I then preceded to dream that later, when I feel asleep on my test and the True/False section tattooed my skin, there were so many x’s in a row that it looked like I had stitches. My dream ended with me penciling on my eyebrows much too thickly while driving a Jeep through the woods…I just don’t know.

One thought on “9/11

  1. Collette, I love the verse you quoted for 9/11—it's perfect for this occasion.So funny that you had your first post-college dream! In recent years,mine have mostly been that I was enrolled in a math course but didn't know it, and it's too late to drop the course. Your dream was hilarious! Love the "TRY HARDER!"

Leave a Reply

