Grandparents Day

Today the Grandparents surprised me at work. It’s Grandmother’s birthday and they were going to eat right down the road at Pinetta’s, and stopped by to see if I could come. When I got into the truck, Grandmother (Marcine) is holding a bouquet of flowers from Pops (Ned).

When we get to the restaurant, we sit against the wall. On the wall behind my head is an old picture of a large group of people, with one chubby man in a white polo nearest to the camera. The picture looks about thirty years old.
“Who is that?” Pops asks me.
I turn to the people partying behind my head. “Him?” I point to the man.
“Yeah,” Pops says with a slight hint of “duh.”
“Well, I don’t know.”
“Doesn’t that look like Chris? I don’t remember his last name, remember Chris mamma? I think that’s him.”
I’m sure it is…
Later in the car as we were driving past Outback, we remark how they are never open for lunch.
Marcine: “I’d hate to own a restaurant.”
Ned: “I’d hate to own a dairy farm.”
Marcine: “Oh yes I’d hate that, too.”
Ned: “Twice a day and seven days a week you milk ’em.”

All I can do is smile in the backseat while the fuzzy sermon plays over the radio, the only thing to ever come over the radio in their car.

One thought on “Grandparents Day

Leave a Reply

