House of Leaves

Every now and then, when I am in need of a creative spark and can’t find words of my own, I look to House of Leaves. While this book sits atop “the list” as my favorite, it still escapes me sometimes how beautiful the language of this novel is. Not only is the plot more original than Plato’s chair he was so in love with, but every word, phrase, side note, all the bricks and mortar that hold the house together, are equally perfect. I wish I had my own copy on hand with me, so that I could share some of the less well known gems I have highlighted, circled, and starred, but these will do just fine. In a way, my copy has become something like an old house. Slightly dilapidated on the outside, but full of beauty and memories and moments of love and fear and breakthrough on the inside.

(Which makes me think, if Danielewski wrote his book like that of a labyrinth, with all the footnotes and scratch outs and indexes, is it possible that the house they are all getting lost in is the book they are entrapped in themselves as characters? Each page another layer deeper down the staircase? Could that be possible? Man this book can make your head spin…)

 

Anyways, here are some of the ones that always seem to make me forget where I am

 

“I took my morning walk, I took my evening walk, I ate something, I thought about something, I wrote, I napped and dreamt something too, and with all that something, I still have nothing because so much of sum’thing has always been and always will be you.”

 

“Why did god create a dual universe?
So he might say
‘Be not like me. I am alone.’
And it might be heard.” 

 

“Through all windows I see only infinity.”

One thought on “House of Leaves

  1. GAH. I STILL haven’t read this. I can’t believe it. I need to get around to it! It’s been floating near the top of my to-read list for at least 8 years now. EIGHT YEARS.

Leave a Reply

