Madly

At 2:00am today, Sarah had Isaiah. I can’t stop staring at his little photograph. It’s like I’m glued to it. I can’t imagine how she must feel, this same feeling times a million, with him making sweet, helpless noises from her arms.

I’m so overcome with how full life is in it’s circular nature, and how beautiful. To think that we, we girls are becoming mothers. We girls who would muddy our tights up and dig traps for robbers with our tiny fingers. Who would squash berries from Gran’s garden and argue about who got to be which boxcar child. ( I always wanted to be Violet, even though I had never read a lick of the books.) The girls who grew up hundreds of miles away, but always stayed sisters, through handwritten letters, plane trips, and week long visits that always seemed to get sucked up into some time vacuum.

It still baffles me that the girls have grown up. I remember when I first began to feel it happening, small shifts in our little world that signaled to us: adulthood is coming. “I wonder what it will bring,” one of us said one year on a beach.

I never realized just how beautiful it would be, adulthood with you girls. And I never thought I could love anything the way I love your little ones. It’s so inexplicable the way you can instantly love someone to death, through and through, that you would do anything for them. It’s a love so innate, that begins the moment you hear that, finally, after nine long months, they are here. 
And just like that, without another word, without meeting, without any of it, you love them madly.
Madly.
4 thoughts on “Madly

  1. this one is so beautiful, it resonates with how i feel towards “my girls” and makes me so excited for the years so quickly coming! your talent for writing never ceases to amaze me. you should write a book

    • Thanks baby girl!!! Sisterhood is one of the most influential, self defining experience. You’re so lucky to have an actual sister!!! And she’s a lucky ducky to have you 🙂
      Miss you so and hope I see you next weekend!!!!
      *fingers crossed*

  2. Resonated deeply with every piece of this. Our sisterhood is one of the truest things about me. I love it when one of us expresses it! And yay for Isaiah!

Leave a Reply

